Initiating Threads

In addition to replying to incoming messages, you can also start new threads.

To initiate a thread:

If your email program has more than one account defined, make sure you choose the Response Manager account when sending a new message. In Outlook 2010, this means choosing your Response Manager account in the From field.

From address selection in Outlook 2010
From address selection in Outlook 2010

In Outlook 2007, you must select the Response Manager account from the Account menu.

Account selection in Outlook 2007
Account selection in Outlook 2007

In the recipient’s email program, messages you initiate will appear to be from the group mailbox, just as with replies. If you are belong to more than one group mailbox, the message is sent from your default group mailbox. Check with your administrator if you are unsure which group mailbox is your default.

To send a message from a group mailbox that is not your default, add the name of the group mailbox (as it appears in the Group Mailboxes subfolder) to the beginning of the message subject, followed by the > symbol, like so: sales > Thanks for your business. Response Manager will remove the group mailbox name before sending the message to the recipient.

Claiming, Reassigning, and Disclaiming Messages

Depending on your group mailbox privileges, you may be able to perform one or more of the following operations:

Check with your Response Manager administrator to clarify your privileges. If you try to perform an operation you’re not permitted to, an error dialog box (like this one from Outlook 2010) will appear.

Response Manager privileges error in Outlook 2010
Response Manager privileges error in Outlook 2010

To take ownership of an unassigned message:

To claim ownership of a message assigned to another user:

To reassign one of your messages to another user:

To reassign a message from one user to another:

To disclaim a message you own:

You may also disclaim a message by dragging it to the Unassigned folder.

To disclaim a message on behalf of another user:

A disclaimed message may or may not appear in the Unassigned folder, depending upon your privileges and on the settings of the group mailbox (it may be reassigned immediately by the system).

Using the On Hold Folder

This folder may not appear for every group mailbox, as administrators may choose not to enable it.

If you know you won’t be able to respond to an assigned message for some time (perhaps you need further information before you can compose a reply), you can move it to the On Hold folder. Placing a message in this folder prevents the message from being automatically reassigned to another user. “On hold” messages are not included in your current workload when Response Manager is deciding how to allocate new messages, so if the group mailbox assigns messages automatically, new messages may appear in the My Messages folder to replace the ones you put on hold.

To put a message on hold:

You can reply to messages directly from the On Hold folder; there is no need to move them back to My Messages first.

To take a message off hold:

Either method results in the message appearing the My Messages folder.

You can also take a message off hold and close it in one step. This is a good method to use if you have put a message on hold to prevent automatic reassignment, as it will ensure that the message doesn’t get reassigned before you can close it.

To close a message directly from the On Hold folder:

The message is removed from the On Hold folder and appears in the Closed folder.

→ Next: Closing a Message

This documentation looks best when viewed with Internet Explorer 9 or greater or the current version of Google Chrome.