Closing a Message

In order to indicate that a message requires no further action, it must be closed.

It is important that you promptly close messages that require no further action. Response Manager reports track the time a message is open, and leaving messages open that are resolved will skew these reports negatively.

To close a message:

Messages in the My Messages folder (but not On Hold) may also be closed by deleting them from the folder. Just as with the first method, the message then appears in the Closed folder.

Closed messages are kept in the Closed folder for a period of time set by the Response Manager system administrator. After that time, closed messages may still be found by using the Search function. See Searching for Messages.

Reopening a Message

Messages may be reopened if they were closed prematurely.

To reopen a message:

Messages cannot be reopened by dragging them to the Unassigned folder.

Approving a Message

A group mailbox may have one or more approvers who are responsible for reviewing messages from some or all users before they are sent. These messages are assigned to approvers and appear in the My Messages folder, indicated with the prefix APRV:.

An approver’s My Messages folder containing messages to be approved
An approver’s My Messages folder containing messages to be approved

If you are a group mailbox approver, you can approve a message (with or without changes, causing it to be sent to the customer), or reject it if it contains an error or is otherwise unacceptable (causing the message to be returned to the user who wrote it). In either case, you may enter comments that will be sent to the user who sent the message.

You can also disclaim a message sent to you for approval by dragging it to the Disclaim folder in the Functions folder. Doing this causes it to be reassigned to another approver.

You cannot disclaim an approval message if you are the only approver for the group mailbox.

Unlike with other messages in your My Messages folder, you cannot use your email program’s delete function to close an approval message. If you try, an error message will be displayed.

To approve or reject a message:

  1. Double-click the message in the appropriate My Messages folder to open it. Messages that require approval have the prefix APRV:.

    A message requiring approval
    A message requiring approval

    Depending on your email program’s settings, you may not see the images in the approval message. If this is the case, there may be a Download Pictures or similar option in the message header that you can choose in order to see the graphics.

  2. Review the message. The text part of the message is shown in the approval message. To view the complete message to be approved, open the message.eml attachment.

  3. To approve the message without modification and without entering a comment, click Approve Message.

    or

    To reject the message without entering a comment, click Reject Message.

    or

    To edit the message or to enter a comment, click Edit or Comment.

  4. If an authorization dialog box appears, enter your Response Manager username and password (the same ones used to create the Response Manager account in your email program) and click OK.

  5. If you clicked Approve Message or Reject Message, a confirmation message appears in a Web browser window.

    Approval confirmation message
    Approval confirmation message

    (If a browser window was already open, you may have to bring it to the front manually in order to see the message.)

    If you clicked Edit or Comment, the Approve Message page appears in a browser window.

    The Approve Message page
    The Approve Message page

    Enter your comments and edit the message, if desired, by clicking Edit Message. Then click Approve Message or Reject Message. The confirmation message shown above appears.

If you approved the message, it is sent to the recipient; if you rejected it, the message is sent back to the sender. In either case, if you entered comments, they are sent to the message sender.

To disclaim an approval message (possible only if there is more than one approver in the group mailbox):

→ Next: Moving a Message to Another Group Mailbox

This documentation looks best when viewed with Internet Explorer 9 or greater or the current version of Google Chrome.