Moving a Message to Another Group Mailbox

If you have the “Move messages to other group mailboxes” privilege for a group mailbox, you can move messages from that group mailbox to another group mailbox. This function is useful if a message was sent to an inappropriate group mailbox (for example, if a message about pricing was sent to the Support mailbox). To move a message between group mailboxes, you must belong to both group mailboxes.

Messages to be moved must be dragged from one of the following folders:

To move a message to another group mailbox:

To move the message and assign it to a specific user:

To move a message and assign it to yourself in the destination group mailbox:

Deleting Messages from Folders

Removing a message from a folder by using your email program’s Delete function rarely removes it from the Response Manager system. Instead, deletion is usually a shortcut for some other Response Manager function. For example, deleting a message from the My Messages folder is a shortcut for closing it; deleting a message from a category folder is a shortcut for removing the message from the category. To remove a message from the system completely, use the Shred function (if you have privileges for it). See the next section, Shredding Messages for details.

The exception to this rule is messages in your Inbox (such as alerts and messages from other Response Manager users). Since these messages are not group mailbox messages, they are treated exactly like messages in your other email accounts. Deleting them really deletes them from the account.

Shredding Messages

You can permanently delete a message by moving it to the Shred folder. This function should be used very rarely; for example, you may need to delete test emails or messages sent in error. Shredded messages are removed completely from Response Manager—they are not included in reports and don’t affect statistics, such as the number of messages handled by a group mailbox.

You can use the Shred folder for group mailbox messages only, not messages appearing in your Inbox (to delete those, just use your email program’s Delete command). You must also have the “Shred messages” privilege in the group mailbox.

Messages to be shredded must be dragged from one of the following folders:

To shred a message:

Flagging Messages as Spam

If you receive “spam” or “junk” email message in a group mailbox, you can permanently delete it and ensure you don’t see future messages from the same sender by using the Flag as Spam function. A message flagged as spam is shredded (see the previous section) and its sender’s address is added to a list of blocked senders so that future messages from the sender will be shredded upon arrival.

You can use this folder for messages sent directly to you from an outside address (not from another Response Manager user) and/or for group mailbox messages where you have “Flag as spam” privileges.

Messages to be flagged as spam must be dragged from one of the following folders:

To flag a message as spam:

If you accidentally flag a message as spam, alert your system administrator immediately so that he can remove the sender from the list of blocked senders.

Categorizing a Message

Messages may be categorized for organizational and reporting purposes.

The Categories folder in a group mailbox contains a subfolder for each category you can use for messages in that group mailbox. All assigned, unassigned, and recently closed messages that have been categorized are shown in the Categories folder, as well as in their original folder.

Messages appearing in category folders are for reference only. Don’t reply to messages from these folders or drag them elsewhere

To assign a message to a category:

To remove a message from a category:

Associating a Thread with a Ticket Number

Response Manager uses threads to track all correspondence for a message. A thread number is automatically assigned to an incoming message and added to the end of the message subject. All further messages related to the original message (such as replies and forwarded messages) are assigned the same thread number.

You can associate a Response Manager thread number with a ticket number from another system used by your organization, such as a customer support database. Once you’ve made such an association, you can use the Search utility (see the next section, Searching for Messages) to find messages based on the ticket number.

To associate a ticket number with a thread:

  1. In the Utilities folder, open the Utilities message.

    Utilities message
    Utilities message
  2. Click Associate Thread With Ticket.

  3. Enter the thread number.

  4. Enter the ticket number to assign to the thread.

  5. Click Save.

Temporarily Preventing Automatic Message Assignment

You can use the Do Not Disturb option to prevent messages from being assigned to you automatically. You may want to use this option, for example, if you will be unexpectedly busy with other tasks or out of the office for a short time. This option affects only automatically-assigned messages. While Do Not Disturb is active, you will continue to receive alerts, messages assigned to you by incoming mail rules, and messages assigned manually by other users.

To use the Do Not Disturb option:

  1. In the Utilities folder, open the Utilities message.

  2. Click Do Not Disturb.

  3. To turn the option on, select the checkbox; to turn it off, deselect it.

  4. Click OK.

Be sure to remember to turn the option off when you are available again for assigned messages.

→ Next: Searching for Messages

This documentation looks best when viewed with Internet Explorer 9 or greater or the current version of Google Chrome.