Folder Reference

This chapter provides a summary of Response Manager’s special folders.

When reading the “How Messages Are Removed” sections in this chapter, keep in mind that removal from a folder does not equal removal from Response Manager. All group mailbox messages are retained for a period specified by the system administrator before they are purged from the system. Messages that you have privileges to see, even if they appear in no folder, can be found using the Search utility. See Searching for Messages.

Group Mailbox Folders

These following folders appear in each group mailbox to which you belong.

Categories

Contents             This folder contains a subfolder for each category in the group mailbox. Category subfolders contain recent group mailbox messages in the category. Both open and closed messages are shown. If you have privileges to see other users’ messages you will see them in the category folders; if not, you will see only your messages.
How Messages Are Added Messages may appear in this folder because they were assigned to a category automatically (by a server-based rule). Users may also copy messages to a category folder.
How Messages Are Removed Closed messages are removed from category folders automatically when they reach the age specified by the administrator for removal of closed messages. Messages may also be removed manually by users. Removing a message from a category folder manually removes it from the category.

Closed

Contents             The Closed folder contains recently closed messages. If you have privileges to see other users’ messages you will see them in the Closed folder; if not, you will see only your messages. Only the most-recently closed messages are shown.
How Messages Are Added Messages appear in this folder when they are closed by any method: automatically by a Response Manager rule, or manually by a user who drags a message to the Closed folder or deletes a message from the My Messages folder, the Unassigned folder, or a user folder.
How Messages Are Removed Messages are removed from this folder automatically when they reach the age specified by the administrator for removal of closed messages. A message will also be removed if it is reopened by dragging it from the Closed folder to My Messages or a user folder.

My Messages

Contents             The My Messages folder contains messages assigned to you.
How Messages Are Added Messages appear here when automatically assigned to you by Response Manager and when manually assigned to you by another user or yourself.
How Messages Are Removed Messages are removed from the My Messages folder when they are closed, reassigned, or disclaimed. Reassignment may occur automatically after a certain period in some group mailboxes. To prevent a message from being reassigned, you can put it on hold (see Preventing Reassignment).

On Hold

This folder may not appear for every group mailbox, as administrators may choose not to enable it.

Contents             Messages that you own and have decided to put aside appear in the On Hold folder. You might put a message on hold because you don’t want to reply to immediately. Another reason to put a message on hold is that you don’t want it to be automatically reassigned by Response Manager (see Preventing Reassignment). Response Manager doesn’t consider On Hold messages when calculating your current workload for automatic assignment purposes.
How Messages Are Added Only you may add messages to On Hold. You do so by dragging them to the folder from My Messages.
How Messages Are Removed To remove a message from On Hold, delete it or drag it to My Messages or (to close it as well) to Closed.

Sent

Don’t confuse this folder with your email program’s Sent Items folder (which appears at the account level, not the group mailbox level). The Sent Items folder is maintained by your email program, not Response Manager.

Contents             The Sent folder contains recently sent messages for the group mailbox. It shows all users’ responses, not just your own, if you have privileges to see them. Only recent messages are shown.
How Messages Are Added Response Manager adds messages to this folder automatically when messages are sent from the group mailbox.
How Messages Are Removed Messages are removed from this folder automatically when they reach the age specified by the administrator for removal of sent messages.

Standard Responses

Contents             The Standard Responses folder contains a subfolder for each standard response defined for the group mailbox. See Replying Using a Standard Response for information on using standard responses.
How Messages Are Added The system administrator creates standard responses and associates them with the group mailbox in order to have them appear here.
How Messages Are Removed Removal of a standard response from a group mailbox by the system administrator causes it to disappear from this folder.

Unassigned

Contents             The Unassigned folder contains group mailbox messages that are not assigned to a user.
How Messages Are Added Messages appear in the Unassigned folder when they arrive and have yet to be assigned, when a previously assigned message has been disclaimed, and when Response Manager tries to reassign a message automatically but there are no available users.
How Messages Are Removed Messages disappear from the Unassigned folder when they have been assigned by Response Manager or a user. Deleting a message from the Unassigned folder in your email program is a shortcut for taking ownership of the message and closing it.

Account Folders

The following folders appear at the main level of your Response Manager account.

Inbox

Contents             The Inbox contains messages sent directly to your Response Manager email address.
How Messages Are Added Messages appear here when they are received from the Response Manager system itself (alerts or error messages) or from other Response Manager users. Users outside of Response Manager cannot sent messages directly to your Inbox. Only messages addressed to group mailboxes are accepted from outside the system.
How Messages Are Removed Messages are removed from your Inbox only when you delete them.

Search Results

Contents             The Search Results folder contains messages you copy to it from the Search utility.
How Messages Are Added A message appears here when you click Copy To Search Results on a message detail page in the Search utility. See Searching for Messages.
How Messages Are Removed Messages disappear from this folder only when you remove them manually by using your email program’s delete function. Since the message that appears here is only a copy, this deletion does not affect the original message stored in Response Manager.

The purpose of the Search Results folder is to let you get a Response Manager message back into your email program after it has expired from the Closed, Sent or category folders (see “Message Expiry & Archiving Settings” in the Administrator Guide). It is not intended to be used as part of any standard group mailbox workflow.

Once a message has been copied to the Search Results folder, you have two options for acting upon the message:

  1. If it is an incoming message, and if you own the message or your group mailbox privileges permit you to take ownership of it, you can simply reply to or forward the message. Response Manager knows which group mailbox the message is in and will send your message from that same group mailbox. Response Manager will make you the owner of the original message if you’re not already the owner.

  2. You can copy any portion of the message or its attachments to use in a new message.

This documentation looks best when viewed with Internet Explorer 9 or greater or the current version of Google Chrome.